powered by FreeFind

Home > Publications > Books > International Companions > International Companion to Edwin Morgan



International Companions to Scottish Literature

The International Companion to

Edited by Alan Riach

Published in: Paperback, 230 pages.
By: Scottish Literature International,
November 2015
Price: £19.95 | €22.95 | USA $24.95
ISBN 9781908980144

Edwin Morgan (1920–2010) is one of the giants of modern poetry. Scotland’s national poet from 2004 to his death in 2010, in his long life he produced an incredible range of work, from the playful to the profound. This International Companion gives a comprehensive overview of Morgan’s poetry and drama. A range of expert contributors guide the reader along Morgan’s astonishing, multi-faceted trajectory through space and time, and provide students with an essential and accessible general introduction to his life and work.


  • Series Editors’ Preface
  • Brief Biography of Edwin Morgan
  • Abbreviations
  • Introduction: Presence, Process, Prize (Alan Riach)
  • The Once and Future Pilot (James McGonigal)
  • Edwin Morgan’s Scrapbooks (Dorothy McMillan)
  • Full Flourish: Major Collections of the 1960s and 1970s
    (David Kinloch)
  • Edwin Morgan’s Poetry from Scotland (Cairns Craig)
  • Cold War Morgan (Adam Piette)
  • Morgan and the City (Robyn Marsack)
  • Edwin Morgan and European Modernism (Ernest Schonfield)
  • Concrete Realities (John Corbett)
  • Edwin Morgan’s Theatre (Anne Varty)
  • Into the Twenty-First Century: from Demon to Dream
    (Hamish Whyte)
  • Further Reading
  • Notes on Contributors
  • Index


Cover image: “Portrait of Edwin Morgan (1920–2010)”, © Alasdair Gray, 2003–04. Reproduced by kind permission of the artist. Photograph courtesy of the Hunterian, University of Glasgow 2015.


Last updated 27 November 2015.