powered by FreeFind

Home > Publications > Books > Scotnotes > The Short Stories of George Mackay Brown



SCOTNOTES Study Guides

The Short Stories of

Linden Bicket

Published in: Paperback.
By: Association for Scottish Literary Studies, 2014
Price: £5.95
ISBN 9781906841225

 Order this title from amazon.co.uk
George Mackay Brown’s work is full of a deeply evocative sense of place and history; his work shows a deep respect for, and love of the natural world, but he is always conscious that there is a spiritual, supernatural dimension to reality. In his short stories especially, there is always the possibility of grace for his characters.

Linden Bicket’s Scotnote examines ten of George Mackay Brown’s short stories, from across his long writing career, and explores their themes and characters.


  • George Mackay Brown: his life and work
  • A Calendar of Love (1967): ‘Master Halcrow, Priest’ and ‘The Story of Jorkel Hayforks’
  • A Time to Keep (1969): ‘A Time to Keep’, ‘The Bright Spade’, ‘The Wireless Set’, and ‘The Eye of the Hurricane’
  • Hawkfall (1974): ‘The Drowned Rose’ and ‘The Tarn and the Rosary’
  • Andrina (1983): ‘Andrina’
  • Winter Tales (1995): ‘Dancey’
  • Conclusion
  • Timeline
  • Bibliography


Last updated 26 September 2014.