powered by FreeFind

Home > Publications > Books > Free downloads > Sins and Follies




Three Stories by Robert Louis Stevenson


Download this title as an ebook
Download this title as a PDF


“In crime, as in all life, nothing is fixed or certain. Put another way, it is part of the mystery of being, which has its origin in religious faith, and Stevenson’s stories abound in mysteries.”
Barry Menikoff

As the creator of the two-faced Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, no one tells tales of dastardly deeds as well as Robert Louis Stevenson. From Arthur Conan Doyle to Ian Rankin, generations of Edinburgh’s writers have been inspired by his work. This collection contains three of Stevenson’s stories of sin – “A Lodging for the Night” (his first published work of fiction); “Markheim” and “The Body-Snatcher”, and is published as part of RLS Day 2016.


  • Preface – Alanna Knight MBE
  • Introduction – Barry Menikoff
  • A Lodging for the Night
  • Markheim
  • The Body-Snatcher
  • Notes


Cover design by Jump Marketing.


Also available:

The Amateur Emigrant
by Robert Louis Stevenson
Introduction by Julia Reid

Robert Louis Stevenson’s vivid, sharp, and thoroughly engaging account of his (impoverished) travels to and across America. This booklet contains the first five chapters of part one, “From the Clyde to Sandy Hook”.


Robert Louis Stevenson’s Fables
Peculiar and provocative, graceful, funny, sometimes eerie, and always beautiful, Stevenson’s Fables are true masterpieces of art, wit, and style.


Strange Tales
Three Uncanny Stories by Robert Louis Stevenson
The Association for Scottish Literary Studies presents three uncanny stories by Robert Louis Stevenson: “Thrawn Janet”; “The Tale of Tod Lapraik”; and “The Bottle Imp”. These eerie tales of witches, warlocks, and demonic pacts are outstanding examples of the storyteller’s art.



Last updated 18 May 2018.